Newent and the surrounding area boasts a number of attractions that are well worth visiting. 

See below for details of just a few of them... 
Arboretum 
Located on the southern outskirts of Newent, not far from the town along Watery Lane. The Arboretum was created in 2000 as part of the national Millennium celebrations. Over 5,000 trees and shrubs were planted while local residents sponsored the installation of 25 benches and additional feature trees. It offers a tranquil environment to take a picnic, for children to play or to walk your dog. There is a small dedicated car park on the corner of Bradfords Lane at the main entrance, although parking is limited. Please note: there are no toilet facilities. 
 
Newent Lake and Park 
A leftover from the fishponds of medieval monks, Newent Lake became part of the former Newent Court (c.1810) which used to occupy the land on the rise to the north of the Lake. A major fire destroyed the large portion of the original building in 1942. The Lake is situated immediately to the rear of Lewall Street car park and is known as Newent’s “Jewel in the Crown.” It is a truly beautiful amenity area with picnic tables, children’s play area and an outdoor gym. There are interesting walks - around the lake itself and in woodland areas stretching beyond, or you may prefer just to sit on one of the many benches located in the area to take in the view and to watch the abundance of wildlife in a peaceful and natural setting. Fishing at Newent Lake is open to residents of the parish by application to the Town Council for a permit. Applicants must be in possession of a full and valid Environment Agency licence and offical proof of address. The cost of the permit is currently £10.00 and free to under 16's. 
 
Market House 
Built in 1668 as a butter market and carries the signature of its Dutch builder – a ball and flute which can be clearly seen on its under beams. It is situated in the centre of the town in the Market Square. In the early 1900’s the Market House was used as a fire station and side screens and doors were added. Today the Market House attracts hundreds of visitors far and wide each year and is open at weekends during the summer months for internal viewing of its Heritage Exhibition. The Town Council hold its Council meetings here twice a month too. The Market Square itself was once home to pioneering 1960’s record producer Joe Meek, most famously remembered for his recording of “Telstar.” His house is depicted by a Blue Plaque on the wall. 
 
In addition to these, there are many other local attractions and places to visit in Newent, including garden centres, charming tea rooms, coffee shops, pubs, restaurants, independent shops, a golf club and much more. 
 
Below are links to some of Newent’s other local attractions... 
Attraction 
Website 
International Centre of Birds of Prey 
St. Marys Church (Anglo-Saxon burial ground) 
Three Choirs Vineyard 
Onion Fayre (held annually in September) 
Hillside Brewery 
Oxenhall Canal 
Tom Roberts Adventure Centre (TRAC) 
Newent Cycling Loop 
Newent Leisure Centre 
Gold-painted Post Box in Newent Town Centre, in honour of local resident Charlotte Dujardin, CBE - Gold Medal Olympic Dressage Winner 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings